1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

POTASSIUM

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Big B, Apr 24, 2017.

1. Big B

Big B New Member

Australia
    State:
    Queensland
    City:
    Gold Coast HINTERLAND
    HELLO ALL
    IM RELATIVELY NEW TO THIS.
    I HAVE A CHOP AND FLIP IBC SYSTEM WORKING REALLY WELL MY PH IS 7 MY AMMONIA IS ZERO NITRITES ZERO AND NITRATE ZERO SO AS FAR AS IM AWARE THIS IS VERY GOOD.
    I ADD ONCE A MONTH A SCOOP OF CHELATED IRON THOUGH SOME OF MY STRAWBERRIES HAVE BURNT EDGES AROUND THE LEAVES AND THERE IS TELL TALE SIGNS OF POTASSIUM SHORTAGE FROM RESEARCH ON SOME OF THE LEAVES THAT I HAVE SEEN ONLINE. CAN ANYONE ADD TO THIS WITH SOME INFO ON HOW TO NATURALLY TEST FOR POTASSIUM AND HOW DO I CORRECT IT ? WHAT DO I USE?
    KIND REGARDS
    BIG B

2. Murray

Murray Site Admin Staff Member

Australia
    State:
    Queensland
    City:
    Brisbane
    Three things do not come into an Aquaponics system easily. Potassium, Calcium and Iron. The only low-cost way to test for potassium is by leaf observation.
    You need to add potassium. Several different types can be obtained. The least expensive and safest to use is potassium bicarbonate.

3. Yabbies4me

Yabbies4me Administrator Staff Member

Australia
    State:
    W.A.
    City:
    Perth