1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

Nitrate Readings

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Big B, Mar 22, 2017.

1. Big B

Big B New Member

Australia
    State:
    Queensland
    City:
    Gold Coast HINTERLAND
    Hi Folks.
    I am relatively new to this.
    Was just wondering if you could give me some advice here.
    I have a system with IBC chop and flip design about 700 litres of water and 300mm media bed with Clay pebbles in it.
    I have 15 Jade perch and 12 Small Redclaw in the bottom.
    I started cycling the system around four weeks ago and planted lettuce Basil and Assorted Greens.
    for the first 3 weeks I added a capful of Seasol and just recently added a teaspoon of chelated iron.
    I was hoping you could give me an indication of the water chemistry.
    From day one every two days I have done a water test of PH Ammonia and Nitrite and Nitrate.
    PH HAS ALWAYS REMAINED AROUND 7.6
    AMMONIA WENT UP JUST ONCE TO 0.25
    NITRITES WENT UP TO 2.0PPM
    AND NITRATE LAST WEEK WAS 20PPM NOW THIS WEEK ITS UP TO 80PPM.
    Should I be worried or is this the so called cycle or do I need to add additional Plants.
    Your thoughts would be appreciated.

2. Yabbies4me

Yabbies4me Administrator Staff Member

Australia
    State:
    W.A.
    City:
    Perth
    Hi Big B, welcome to the forum.