1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

Aqua-pini? Wali-ponics? Looking for comments on my design.

Discussion in 'Greenhouse - Shade house.' started by seanadams, Jul 11, 2011.

1. seanadams

seanadams New Member

I have no hands-on experience yet with AP so I'm hoping somebody can offer me some feedback on my greenhouse concept before I break ground.

I have a gently sloping, south-facing hillside that I think would be ideal for a Walipini greenhouse. But I am trying to figure out how to optimize the concept for aquaponics, and have not been able to find much guidance.

The idea that I came up with is that since I would like to have retaining walls anyway, perhaps I will hire a pool builder to dig the hole for me and shoot the walls and floor with concrete. Then I could use the entire floor space as a giant "sump tank", and build a raised floor to walk over the top of it.

The idea with the large water volume is that it could be used to grow duckweed, but also it would serve as a huge thermal mass to increase the efficacy of the walipini design. Also the high water/fish ratio would improve chemical stability I hope. I might have a small area partitioned off for fish, or the fish could be in a raised tank for easier accessibility and visual inspection.