1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

Shelf Aquaponics

Discussion in 'Aquaponics Ideas' started by pkoay, Jan 13, 2016.

1. pkoay

pkoay New Member

Australia
    State:
    QLD
    City:
    Brisbane
    Hi all,

I'm very new to aquaponics, only read a few things so I'm keen for some feedback. I want to build single shelf system for suburban hobbyist that requires minimal space (e.g. for a unit balcony) that has a high density fish stocking. Below is a basic diagram of what I have come up with:
    upload_2016-1-13_10-8-50.png

This is different from the standard Chift Pist System:

[​IMG]

The main differences is the water flow, in my system :
      1. Water pumped from sump on to the grow beds (not into the fish tank)
      2. Water flow from the fish tank goes to the sump (not grow beds)
      3. Water from grow beds goes into fish tank (not sump)
    The reason I think this might be a good idea is that Solids Lift Overflow will put the waste in the sump tank swirl filter, not back up in the grow media (i.e. less cleaning)

However as I have no idea why the water flow is set up in the Chift Pist, maybe I'm missing a critical point.
    Any comments would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

2. yoodles

yoodles VIP Supporter

Australia
    State:
    SA
    City:
    Mount Barker
    high fish density means you have to have lots of grow beds -