1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

seeds germinating but not continuing to grow & yellowing

Discussion in 'Plants' started by AReiher, Apr 5, 2012.

1. AReiher

AReiher New Member

Hey there, I am very new to Aquaponics but we just bought a house with a fantastic set up. We have just bought 50 rainbow trought for our 1000L tank which feeds a large assortment of large tubs of plants in a hothouse. My problem at the moment is that we bought the house 4 weeks ago and on the day we bought it I planted seeds (lettuce, rocket, basil, bok choy, silver beet) and they germinated really quickly and grew a little bit but then either died off or have not grown much since. I later planted baby leaf gourmet mix and they germinated and grew a little bit but the leaves have turned yellow and they have not continued to grow. I have baby broccoli growing and it seems to be doing okay but not growing fast like the aquaponics system should (i.e. planted 3 weeks ago and they are about 3-4cm). The established plants in the hothouse that were already there when we moved in (lemon grass, asparagus, sweet potato, celeriac) are all doing great. I've watched quite a few of Murray's video tutorials and added 1 tsp of chelated iron yesterday. Does anyone have any other recommendations for me? Thanks, Angela

2. silloth52

silloth52 Member

australia
    State:
    vic
    City:
    melbourne