1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

Seaweed extract and humic acid

Discussion in 'Fertiliser - mineral supplements. Aquaponics syste' started by stevegoldy, Sep 6, 2016.

1. stevegoldy

stevegoldy New Member

Australia
    State:
    South Australia
    City:
    Berri
    I am no professional by any means, so please correct me if I'm wrong
    I have read on some threads that peopls add things like seaweed extract (and I do to) to "fertilise "there plant, even while dealing with nutrient toxicity
    This is some what incorrect, while it dose have some micronutrients it is more of a root tonic as It stimulates root growth

Some others panic when the water turns dark when they add these extracts. I think this is a good thing, especially if you have an algae problem, because you are artificially darkening the water, which algae will not thrive. However you could argue that the higher nutrient level would increase algae growth. And I agree

So now my question is why not use humic acid which is a soil conditioner
    And this is my understanding