1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

Pond-grow bed-raft; need a swirl filter?

Discussion in 'General Aquaponics discussion - Aquaponics system ' started by chily3, Feb 20, 2019.

1. chily3

chily3 New Member

czech rep
    State:
    czech rep
    City:
    ostrava
    Hello everyone,

I would like to ask for your help. I have some experiences with aquarium aquaponic (approx 100 l system), but this is something else and I would like to consult this with the skilled users.

It is necessary to use swirl filter in the setup I describe below?

Buddy has a pond on backyard since June 2018, he's got trouts there and some perches there. The volume of the pond is approx 30,000 liters and is placed in shadow. He use pond filter GREEN RESET 100L (2x25W UV-C, 100 l volume, 16 000 l/h).

We got the idea to make the aquaponic system and connect it to the pond by another pump. The AP system includes grow bed (750 liters of gravel) and raft (400 l volume). I design the system with swirl filter unit, but I would like to ask you if this is unnecessary. The raft should be clean, because the grow bed also works as a mechanical filter. But what growbed? Will it be necessary to filter the water from the mechanical particles from the pond? Should we add a worms, which could reduce detritus, but will it be enough in the outdoor environment?