1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

Papaya plant root rot

Discussion in 'Plants' started by srujan, Apr 29, 2016.

1. srujan

srujan New Member

India
    State:
    Telangana
    City:
    Hyderabad
    Hi all,

I am new to aquaponics and this forum. I have build my system using CHOP2 principle. Currently i am running a fishless cycle from last 3 weeks with some tomotoes, colour bell peppers, egg plants, banana & papaya. All these were planted 10 days back. All plants seemed perfect untill two days back, from last two days some plants started withering and today we observed that papaya plant roots are rotted. This system is of 20000 litres fish tank capacity and there is no oxygenation input setup.
    Attached the pictures of withered bell peppers and papaya rotted roots. uploadfromtaptalk1461929967726.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1461929988042.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1461930002848.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1461930035966.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1461930059577.jpg

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

2. srujan

srujan New Member

India
    State:
    Telangana
    City:
    Hyderabad
    Just to update...so far tomatoes and banana tress are doing fine

3. Yabbies4me

Yabbies4me Administrator Staff Member

Australia
    State:
    W.A.
    City:
    Perth
    Hi Srujan,

- What is the operating method for this system?... ie: Siphoned Flood & Drain, Timed F&D, or Constant Flood.