1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

First Post and looking for some advise.

Discussion in 'General Aquaponics discussion - Aquaponics system ' started by Shane75, Oct 6, 2018.

1. Shane75

Shane75 New Member

Australia
    State:
    Victoria
    City:
    Langwarrin
    Hi everybody, this is my first post and looking for some advise.
    I am a newbie I guess in the scheme of things. I started my first build a couple of years ago and have built a CHOP mark 2 system as per Murrys' plans. 1000L IBC for the fish tank and 2 cut down IBCs to form the 3 grow beds and sump. The grow media is 20mm river pebbles approx 300-350mm deep.

12 months ago I added 50 silver perch to the system, I did unfortunately lose a number of them to begin with, (27 loses in total). I put that down to having a very high Nitrate level, over the period of a couple of days I did many water changes and got the level right down. Since then I have only had 1 fish loss and that was over winter when the temp dropped quite cold. I live south east of Melbourne.