1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice
  1. Andy Richard

Andy Richard New Member

Canada
    State:
    Ontario
    City:
    Brighton
    I'm fairly new to AP and I seem to keep getting the same results
    I plant cucumber seeds and they start out growing well but then turn yellow and die.

I also transfered basil plants into the system and they turned yellow but didnt die.

I have pictures I will add once I figure out how

Well water
    200g - with 30 3" Tilapia

8.5PH
    70 deg
    AMM 0
    Nitrite 0
    Nitrate 40ppm

2. Mel Redcap

Mel Redcap Active Member

Australia
    State:
    ACT
    City:
    Canberra
    Hi Andy, welcome to the forum!

Your pH is high enough that you're getting nutrient lockout - even if everything the plants need is in the system water, they can't access it. Short term, you can help the plants along by diluting a little liquid fertiliser in system water and spraying it on their leaves (pick one that doesn't have much nitrogen in it); long term, you need to get your pH down. What media are you using, and what's the pH of your supply water after it's been sitting in a bucket or similar for at least 24 hours?

3. Andy Richard

Andy Richard New Member

Canada
    State:
    Ontario
    City:
    Brighton
    Hi Mel,
    Im using horticultural clay pebbles and I just tested my supply water after 24hr and it's 8.4 ph